• Home
  • AIHA UMS Fall 2022 Professional Development Conference

AIHA UMS Fall 2022 Professional Development Conference

  • November 10, 2022
  • 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
  • Double Tree by Hilton - Roseville, MN (2540 Cleveland Ave, Roseville, MN)


  • Booth with space for materials. Up to 2 guests allowed at special $50/person pricing.
  • Full-time students only. Student sponsorship is thanks to local members' donations.

Registration is closed

American Industrial Hygiene Association Upper Midwest Section

25th Annual Professional Development Conference

Thursday November 10, 2022

DoubleTree by Hilton Roseville Minneapolis (formerly Radisson)

2540 Cleveland Ave., Roseville, MN 55113


Registration, continental breakfast, exhibitor time


Welcome and Opening Remarks


Emotional Intelligence in Today's Workplace

 Martha Bryan


Break and exhibitor time


Heat Illness Prevention: Regulation, Enforcement and Best Practices

Adele Abrams, Esq., ASP, CMSP


How Big Data, AI, and ML is Changing our EHS Profession

Dave Risi, CIH, CSP


Lunch and exhibitor time


Wildfire Emissions: Utility of Thermal History for Assessment of Wildfire Smoke Impacts

Michael Larranaga


History and Investigation of Chemical Odors and Explosion in the University Avenue Sewer

Neil Carlson, CIH


Break and exhibitor time


Leveraging Real Time Instruments to Improve Exposure Assessments

Scott Norman, CIH





K2: Inhalation and Dermal Exposures During Binder Jetting and Photopolymerization Methods of Additive Manufacturing

Rebecca Burton, CIH


Closing remarks and door prizes



This event contains 6.0 hours which may be eligible for CM points. See the ABIH website for CM credit criteria.

This course is designed to meet the criteria for COCs as specified by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.


Martha Bryan

Owner, President & Presenter

Bryan & Bryan Associates

Martha Bryan is a management consultant, author, speaker, and seminar leader who speaks nationally and internationally regarding the development of human potential and personal excellence.  With an education background in teaching, she has taught at both high school and college levels and has held positions in both government and private industry. Fascinated by what makes some individuals strive to be the very best, Martha has devoted her life to studying peak performers.  She is a highly effective organization consultant and dynamic public speaker who is recognized for her informative, down-to-earth, and entertaining keynote presentations and workshops.  You will enjoy spending time with her!

Adele L. Abrams, Esq., ASP, CMSP

President, Law Office of Adele L Abrams PC


Adele is an attorney, safety professional and trainer who is president of the Law Office of Adele L. Abrams P.C. in Beltsville, MD, Charleston, WV, and Denver, CO, a multi-attorney firm focusing on safety, health and employment law nationwide. Adele is an Associate Safety Professional (ASP), and a Certified Mine Safety Professional (CMSP). She provides consultation, safety audits and training services, and represents employers in OSHA, MSHA and employment law matters.

Adele is on the faculty of University of Colorado and the Catholic University of America, where she instructs on employment, labor and safety law. She is a regular columnist on legal, employment, mine and occupational safety/health issues, and is co-author of several books related to mining, construction, employment law, and occupational safety and health.

She is a member of the Maryland, DC and Pennsylvania Bars, the U.S. District Courts of Maryland, DC and Tennessee, the U.S. Court of Appeals, DC, 3rd and 4th Circuits, and the United States Supreme Court. She is a graduate of the George Washington University’s National Law Center, and earned her B.S. in Journalism from the University of Maryland, College Park.

Her professional memberships include the American Society of Safety Professionals, National Safety Council, the National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association, SME, the Industrial Minerals Association-North America, and the American Bar Association. In 2017, she received the NSC’s Distinguished Service to Safety Award. She is a multiple recipient of the ASSP SPY award at the chapter, practice specialty and regional level. Adele is also an Avetta Fellow.

Dave Risi, CIH, CSP

Principal Solution Strategist, Industrial Hygiene

Dave is a board-certified industrial hygienist and safety professional, with over 30 years in the Environmental, Health & Safety field.  He left a Corporate Industrial Hygiene position at Exxon to join Oracle in 1996 and help build Oracle’s Health & Safety application.  He formed Spiramid in 2001 and acquired the Oracle Health & Safety application to bring it to a broader marketplace, expanding its use to over 60 countries.  In 2019, VelocityEHS acquired Spiramid and brought Dave into oversee the strategy of the IH solution. 

Dave has a Master’s in Industrial Hygiene from UCLA and Bachelors in Occupational Safety & Health from Ferris State University.

Michael Larrañaga

President of R.E.M. Risk Consultants

Michael Larrañaga is President of R.E.M. Risk Consultants, a fire safety, process safety, and risk management consulting firm. He is member of the IICRC S760 Wildfire Restoration consensus body, AIHA Climate Change Task Force, and an appointed member of the Scientific / Technical Advisory Committee of the World Trade Center Health Program. Previously, he was a member of the AIHA Wildfire Task Force and served on the NIOSH Board of Scientific Counselors and the joint Cumulative Exposure Risk Group (NIOSH/EPA/NIEHS/NTP). He is Founding Scholar of Innovation and Creativity at the United States Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. Author Marc Gravely, in his book Reframing America’s Infrastructure: A Ruins to Renaissance Playbook, describes Michael as a Visionary with a cutting-edge vision for the future of America’s infrastructure.

Neil G. Carlson, MS CIH

University of Minnesota

Neil G. Carlson, MS CIH has worked over 30 years as a public health specialist at the University of Minnesota Department of Environmental Health and Safety. He has published papers on indoor air quality and ergonomics. He is responsible for coordinating the University Health and Safety on call emergency response group. He is an adjunct faculty member for Construction Management at the University of Minnesota College of Continuing and Professional Studies.

AIHA-UMS 2022 Board

President: Mark Lenling, CSP                                                           president@aihaums.org         

President-Elect: Mary Ferrian, CSP             mary.ferrian@ieasafety.com 

Past President: Mandie Kramer, CIH                                               snorman@baywest.com

Treasurer: Michael Plagge                                                                 treasurer@aihaums.org

Treasurer-Elect: Shane Doggett

Secretary: Sarah Garcia                                                                      secretary@aihaums.org

Secretary-Elect: Andre Reed

Student Section Rep: Natalie Brown                                               nbrown4@mmm.com

Webmaster: Shanna Kuehn                                                               webmaster@aihaums.org

2022 PDC Planning Committee

Mark Lenling, CSP          

Mary Ferrian, CSP

Caleb Jones, CIH, CSP

Haley Saddoris

Christian (Shane) Doggett

Puleng Moshele

AIHA - Upper Midwest Section is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. AIHA-UMS, P.O. Box 13717, Roseville, MN 55113
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software